Girls' Cross Country

Girls' Cross Country was begun in 1975 and continued for 27 years as a school sponsored sport until 2002 when it was discontinued. In 2009, Crookston High School entered into a co-op program with East Grand Forks Senior High School.

Murray Warren was the first coach in 1975. Coach Warren was also the Boys' Cross Country Coach. He coached both teams for five years, until 1982 when the teams were separated and Dave Barnum became the Girls' coach.

Coach Barnum served until 1997, when it was again combined with the Boys under one coach, Herb Hasz, who coached for 3 years.

Coach Barnum took over again in 2001, the last year of the program. Barnum coached Girls' Cross Country for a total of 17 years.

Team Region 8A Champions
The Crookston High School Girls' Cross Country team won two Region Championships, in 1985 and 1986, under Coach Dave Barnum.

Individual Region 8A Champions
1985 - Heather Aubol
1986 - Heather Aubol
2018 - Katherine Geist

State Participants
The following were Minnesota State Cross Country participants:
1984 - Heather Aubol finished 32nd. Named one of thirty girls nationwide for the first annual "Bonne Bell All American High School Girls' Cross Country Team.
1985 - Heather Aubol finished 29th.
1986 - Heather Aubol finished 16th.
1986 - Cindy Raymond
1988 - Heather Aubol
1999 - JaNae Altepeter finished 47th
2001 - JaNae Altepeter qualified but did not run because of illness
2014 - Katherine Geist finished 61st (EGF Cross Country Team Co-op)
2015 - Katherine Geist finished 38th (EGF Cross Country Team Co-op)
2016 - Katherine Geist finished 17th (EGF Cross Country Team Co-op)
2017 - Katherine Geist finished 51st (EGF Cross Country Team Co-op) All State Academic w/4.0 GPA & top 15 at Sections (3rd)
2018 - Katherine Geist finished 9th (EGF Cross Country Team Co-op) All State Academic w/4.0 GPA & was the Northwest Conference and Section 8A Champion.  She won 11 meets in a row. 

If you have additional information, 

Contact: Ed Nelson


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.